Simona Halep, Petra Kvitova, Ana Ivanovic and Caroline Wozniacki go through in Dubai

by   |  VIEW 5747

Simona Halep, Petra Kvitova, Ana Ivanovic and Caroline Wozniacki go through in Dubai

Tennis: All of the top 7 seeds in action, Simona Halep, Petra Kvitova, Ana Ivanovic, Caroline Wozniacki, Agnieszka Radwanska, Ektaerina Makarova and Angelique Kerber are through to the third round of the Dubai Duty Free WTA Championship.

Top seed Simona Halep was in amazing form as she needed only 73 minutes to brush aside the former world No.5 and wildcard Daniela Hantuchova in straight sets 6-2, 6-0. On the other hand, the second seed Petra Kvitova had to pass a tough test, as she dropped the first set 2-6 against Elina Svitolina.

The Czech player made a comeback and won next two sets 6-3, 6-2 to go through. The third seed and former world No.1 Caroline Wozniacki faced the 2011 US Open champion Samantha Stosur in match of the day. Stosur won the first set 6-4 and Wozniacki won the second set 6-1 to force it into the decider.

The third set was a thriller but it was the Dane who came out on top at the end by winning it 7-5. Fourth seed and another former world No.1 Ana Ivanovic eased past the 2013 Wimbledon finalist Sabine Lisicki in straight sets 6-0, 6-3.

Fifth seed Agnieszka Radwanska also needed 3 sets to beat Caroline Garcia 6-3, 2-6, 6-3. Seventh seed Angelique Kerber ousted the 2-time Grand Slam champion Svetlana Kuznetsova in straight sets 7-6 (9), 6-4. Garbine Muguruza stunned the former world No.1 and 12th seed Jelena Jankovic in straight sets 6-3, 6-1. Other results: Ekaterina Makarova def Kateryna Kozlova 6-3 6-3 Tsvetana Pironkova def Shuai Peng 3-6 6-4 7-6 Karolina Pliskova def Barbora Zahlavova Strycova 6-4 6-2 Lucie Safarova def Casey Dellacqua 6-7 7-6 7-5 Zarina Diyas def Andrea Petkovic 7-5 6-3 Alize Cornet def Cagla Buyukakcay 6-2 6-4 Carla Suarez Navarro def Camila Giorgi 6-3 6-4 Also Read: World No.3 Simona Halep races into the third round of Australian Open Also Read: Simona Halep cruises into the Quarterfinals of the Australian Open