WTA Auckland - Radwanska is first WTA winner in 2013

by   |  VIEW 4030

WTA Auckland - Radwanska is first WTA winner in 2013

World no. 4 Agnieszka Radwanska has become the first champion on the WTA circuit in 2013. The Pole scored a hard fought 6-4, 6-4 win over third seeded Belgian Yanina Wickmayer 6-4, 6-4 to win the ASB Classic in Auckland. It is her 11th career WTA title.

The Pole will now head to Sydney for the Apia International where she is the top seed before she goes on to Melbourne for the Australian Open. This is the best start for Radwanska in any season and she now hopes to go better than 2012 where she peaked at no.

2 in the rankings and reached the finals at Wimbledon. Wickmayer was playing the Auckland final for the third time, having won here in 2010 and been a finalist in 2011. Wickmayer has been ranked inside the top 20 before. Radwanska commented, "I'm very, very happy.

I couldn't have asked for a better way to start the year," said the Wimbledon finalist after strolling through the week-long Auckland tournament without dropping a set. It's a great way to prepare for the Australian Open." .WIckmayer commented, "I'm disappointed but I left my heart and soul on court. I was trying to be as aggressive as I could but it wasn't enough today."