ASB Classic earns fourth WTA award ahead of 2020 edition

by   |  VIEW 1532

ASB Classic earns fourth WTA award ahead of 2020 edition

The WTA International event in Auckland will kick off the season in women's tennis, with Bianca Andreescu, Serena Williams, Petra Martic and Amanda Anisimova choosing the ASB Classic over Brisbane. Less than a month before the start of the event, the WTA has honored Auckland with the WTA International tournament of the year award, sharing it with Acapulco.

It is the fourth time that the ASB Classic takes this award and in the perfect moment, preparing to host some of the finest WTA and ATP players between January 6-18 at the redeveloped ASB Classic Arena and it's famous Yock Stand.

Besides the mentioned players, the crowd will have a chance to watch Julia Goerges, Catherine Bellis and Caroline Wozniacki for the very last time, as the Dane plans to retire at the Australian Open. "We are very proud to have won this award and take great pride in celebrating and showcasing all that is great about our city, what summer means in Auckland and of course, women's tennis.

To have the players recognize the effort our amazing team puts in, including our 220 volunteers who give up their Christmas holidays to make our event happen, is just reward for their passion and commitment. We would like to thank the WTA, the WTA players and, most importantly, our ASB Classic volunteer and management team for whom this award belongs to" ASB Classic Tournament Director Karl Budge said.

"This recognition continues to underline Auckland's growing reputation as a popular choice for the game's best players. Over the years, the ASB Classic has become a marquee event helping enhance Auckland's appeal as a destination.

We would like to acknowledge the work by the ASB Classic team and their tireless work in ensuring the ASB Classic continues to be top of the events calendar," said Steve Armitage, General Manager: Destination of Auckland Tourism, Events and Economic Development.