WTA Palermo: here is the first entry list after the stop!

by   |  VIEW 6210

WTA Palermo: here is the first entry list after the stop!

For now it is not a true entry-list but a provisional entry-list, but for the 31st edition of the Ladies Palermo Open there is a great expectation. The organizers have made it known that the possibility of postponing the deadline for registrations to 13 July 2020 is under consideration, but this would already have the appearance of a WTA Premier rather than a WTA International.

In Sicily, Italy, there should be five Top-20s: Aryna Sabalenka, Petra Martic, Elena Ribakyna, Marketa Vondrousova and Maria Sakkari, and three Slam champions. In fact, in addition to Svetlana Kuznetsova and Jelena Ostapenko, Simona Halep could join.

Despite not yet having made a final choice, the number two of the WTA ranking seems very close to participation, in view of the restart of the WTA Tour. On the social channels of the event it can be read that two of the four wild-cards will still be available to the Top- 10.

At present, therefore, the presence of Kiki Bertens, Elina Svitolina or Karolina Pliskova cannot be excluded. We also remind you that the WTA Tour will begin again to take its first steps on Palermo clay-courts with the presence of the crowd, albeit limited.

Continuing to scroll through the entry list we find players such as Donna Vekic, Dayana Yastremska and Daria Kasatkina. Camila Giorgi will be present in Sicily thanks to a wildcard with Jasmine Paolini, who should receive the other invitation.

The words of Oliviero Palma, tournament director

"We are setting up this tournament for the players and we are considering not covering the costs. Sorry that this is linked to tragic events, but we have to start again.

We feel the weight of responsibility, showing the world that you can return to the field by respecting the measures of security, from social distancing to masks, with a program of swabs and tests for the players. We must cancel the image of tennis given by the performance of Novak Djokovic."

Last season Jil Teichmann won the 30th edition of the WTA tournament by beating Kiki Bertens in the final, for 7-6 (3) 6-2. Here is the provisional entry list of the Ladies Palermo Open Aryna Sabalenka
Petra Martic
Elena Rybakina
Marketa Vondrousova
Maria Sakkari
Vekic Donna
Dayana Yastremska
Ekaterina Alexandrova
Svetlana Kuznetsova
Veronika Kudermetova
Kristina Mladenovic
Yelena Ostapenko
Anastasija Sevastova
Rebecca Peterson
Polona Hercog
Fiona Ferro
Alison Van Uytvanck
Alizé Cornet
Bernarda Pera
Jil Teichmann
Laura Siegemund
Daria Kasatkina
Kristyna Pliskova
Arantxa Rus
Camila Giorgi (WC)