Before the resumption of the game between Carlos Alcaraz and Tommy Paul, in Cincinnati, an incredible incident has attracted the curiosity of enthusiasts and fans. While the two tennis players were warming up, after a break in the locker room due to the rain pouring down on central court, the American inadvertently hit the chair umpire while he was trying to serve.
The American hit the umpire squarely and, immediately realizing what had happened, ran towards him to apologize for what had happened. "Excuse me," he promptly uttered the world number 14. He apologies accepted by the judge, who clarified with the player: "Everything is ok.
It was an accident. It's good that he didn't see her." "I'm so sorry," concluded Paul, walking back to the baseline to try again.
The match between Paul and Alcaraz
A match full of twists and turns in Cincinnati between the two, who also faced each other in Toronto with the somewhat surprising victory of the American.
Alcaraz this time, despite the initial 2-5, managed to win the first set in the tie-break thanks to an expensive and important comeback. Paul didn't give up even on this occasion and in the tie-break of the second set, after canceling 3 match points in a game that lasted 15 minutes, he inflicted a 7-0 run and further lengthened the battle.
At the stroke of the three hours of play, the two athletes had to stop due to the rain. In the end, the Spaniard was able to get the decisive third set 6-3 and advance in the main draw of the last Master 1000 before the Us Open.
Here is the video released on Twitter by TennisTv:
The match started badly for Alcaraz, who lost his serve at 2-3.
Paul played an excellent forehand and finished well on goal. The American protected the lead in the seventh game; not in the ninth, when a volley betrayed him.Paul then grabbed the tie-break with difficulty by recovering from 0-40 to 5-5.
Alcaraz chased his rival from the first moment but found the answers he was looking for with his back against the wall. A fantastic drop shot allowed him to put distance between himself and Paul.There are many regrets that could have knocked on the American's door if he hadn't won the second set against an inaccurate Alcaraz.
Closing the deficit, Paul was twice ahead by a break and had a set point on serve at 5-4. Carlos Alcaraz beat Tommy Paul in an epic match in Cincinnati Alcaraz, as only great champions can do, hit a winning reply to rebalance the challenge.
It is in this context that reality has taken over and exceeded all expectations. Paul disallowed three match points in an endless twelfth game and won the tiebreaker 7-0.Alcaraz reacted with great personality, moving ahead by a break in the third set, after the interruption due to rain and above all after a horror tie-break in the second set.In the second half, however, it was the Spanish tennis player who took the field better.
So he closes with the final score of 7-6, 6-7, 6-3.
• Tommy Paul's girlfriend dedicates beautiful love words to the US player• Tommy Paul shares his honest truth on reaching the Top-10• US Open: Ben Shelton tops Tommy Paul in all-American duel• Carlos Alcaraz beat Tommy Paul in an epic match in Cincinnati: the Highlights• ATP Cincinnati: Carlos Alcaraz edges Tommy Paul and serves revenge• ATP Toronto: Carlos Alcaraz falls to Tommy Paul. Will Novak Djokovic pass him?