Wta Finals

The WTA Finals are the women's tournament that closes the WTA calendar. It is considered the most important review of the year after the four Grand Slam rounds, in which the top eight tennis players in the WTA singles rankings and the top eight doubles players take part. It represents the women's equivalent of the ATP Finals. It has been played every year since 1972.

From 1979 to 2000 it was held at Madison Square Garden in New York, in 2001 in Germany, from 2002 to 2005 in Los Angeles, in 2006 and 2007 in Madrid, from 2008 to 2010 in Doha, from 2011 to 2013 in Istanbul, from 2014 to 2018 in Singapore, 2019 in Shenzhen, 2021 in Guadalajara, 2022 in Fort Worth and from 2023 again in Shenzhen.

A peculiarity of the women's Masters from 1984 to 1998 was that the final was played in the best of five sets, since the tennis players always play the best of three sets. In 1990 the final between Monica Seles and Gabriela Sabatini ended in the fifth set with the victory of the Serbian tennis player after almost four hours of play. Victories in the fifth set also in 1995 and 1996 by Steffi Graf against compatriot Anke Huber and Martina Hingis.

Since 2014, the doubles winners' trophy has been named after tennis player Martina Navratilova. The 2020 edition was not held due to the COVID-19 pandemic. By the same token, travel restrictions to China have caused the 2021 and 2022 editions of the tournament to be moved to Guadalajara, Mexico, and Fort Worth, Texas, respectively.