International Tennis Federation

The International Tennis Federation (ITF) is the governing body of the tennis world, to which 203 national tennis associations belong. It was established as the International Lawn Tennis Federation (ILTF) by twelve national associations which met at a conference in Paris on 1 March 1913.

In 1924 it became the officially recognized organization responsible for controlling lawn tennis worldwide, with the establishment of official rules. In 1977, the word on lawn dropped from the name, as it was recognized that most tennis was no longer played on grass.

He was originally based in Paris, but during the Second World War he moved to Roehampton, southeast London, where he still resides today. The ITF holds two of the sport's three major team events: Davis Cup for men and Fed Cup for women.

Until 2020, it also organized the Hopman Cup, for mixed teams, replaced by the ATP Cup organized by the ATP. The ITF is also responsible for organizing tennis tournaments at the Olympic and Paralympic Games, in which the athletes represent their nation. The ITF is responsible for the four most important tournaments in the discipline, those of the Grand Slam: the Australian Open, the French Tennis Internationals, the Wimbledon Tournament and the US Open.