China Open

The China Open is a tennis tournament for both male and female professional athletes. The first edition of the tournament included an exclusively male draw and was held in 1993, with which the ATP attempted to break through on the Asian market thanks to the creation of the Dubai Tennis Championships and the Qatar ExxonMobil Open. In 1998 he was suspended until 2004, when he also joined the WTA Tour.

In the men's category, the tennis player to have won the tournament the most is Novak Djokovic who obtained the title in 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015. As for the women's Serena Williams, Svetlana Kuznecova, Caroline Wozniacki and Agnieszka Radwańska share the record with two victories each.

The 2020 and 2021 editions are not played due to the COVID-19 pandemic, while the 2022 edition of the women's tournament is canceled following the decision by the WTA to suspend all tournaments in China in response to the case of tennis player Peng Shuai.