google newsGoogle News  

Kremlin Cup

The Kremlin Cup is an annual tennis tournament held each fall at the Krylatskoye Ice Palace in Moscow. The men's competition is an ATP Tour event, while the women's competition is part of the WTA Tour. In 2003 it was voted best category tournament.

The Kremlin Cup, founded in 1990 by Swiss businessman Sasson Kakshouri, is the first professional tournament to take place in Russia and, in the first editions, was reserved only for men's competitions. The first women's edition dates back to 1996. The prizes up for grabs from 1990 to 1993 were around 333,000-350,000 dollars, while since 1994 the figure has exceeded 1,000,000 dollars.

The matches were played on indoor synthetic until 2006. Since the 2007 edition it has been played on indoor hard. The 2020 edition is not held due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Related articles