google newsGoogle News  

Florida State University

The Florida State University is one of the leading public universities in the US state of Florida.

Founded in 1851, it is the oldest university in the state still active. It is headquartered in the state capital, the town of Tallahassee. The university is made up of 15 distinct colleges and 39 institutes and research centers.

Each year it awards around 2 000 bachelor's degrees in more than 300 study subjects. Research activity is also highly developed, with about 300 new PhDs each year. He is also a member of the National Sea Grant College Program and the National Space Grant College and Fellowship Program, two national research programs specializing respectively in coastal and marine environmental protection and aerospace research.

Florida State is home to the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory, a laboratory of excellence in magnetic field research. In addition, taxol was synthesized here in 1989, a molecule with important applications in the treatment of tumors.

The main subjects taught and researched are: natural sciences, social and political sciences, cinema, engineering, visual arts and theatre, economics, medicine and law. The College of Social Work is the nation's largest. 

Related articles