Lpga Tour

The LPGA Tour is the premier women's professional golf tour in the United States of America, operated by the LPGA.

The first edition of the tournament dates back to 1950 with the organization of the Tampa Women's Open. The most titled golfer is the American Kathy Whitworth, winner of 88 tournaments on the LPGA Tour.

Unlike the men's category, the LPGA Tour is managed by the body of the same name.

Most of the LPGA Tour events are held in the United States of America. In 1956 the LPGA held its first overseas tournament, the Havana Open, in the Cuban capital of Havana. As of 2020, fourteen tournaments are held outside the United States: seven in Asia, four in Europe, two in Australia and one in Canada.

Five of the tournaments held outside the United States of America are co-sanctioned with other professional bodies. The Ladies European Tour co-manages the Women's British Open, the Evian Championship in France and the Women's Australian Open. The other two events take place during the tour's fall season on the Asian mainland.

Its first president was Patty Berg. In that same circumstance it was decided to start a series of tournaments, on an annual basis, included in a single circuit known as the LPGA Tour.

The first official tournament of the LPGA Tour was the Tampa Women's Open, held in January 1950 at the Palma Ceia Golf and Country Club in Tampa, where the amateur Polly Riley triumphed, surprisingly able to beat already professional and much more experienced players.