google newsGoogle News  

Duke University

The Duke University is one of the most famous and most prestigious universities in US. It was founded in 1838 during the presidency of Martin Van Buren, and it is located in Durham, North Carolina. The name was changed in 1924 in honor of James Buchanan Duke following a bequest from the Duke family of tobacco manufacturers.

Constituent schools of the university include Trinity College, the Edmund T. Pratt School of Engineering, the Terry Sanford Institute of Public Policy, the Fuqua School of Business, Duke Medical School, Duke Law School, and the Duke Divinity School.

The growth of the university and the volume of research funds have helped confirm Duke University's academic reputation. Three students were named Rhodes Scholars in both 2002 and 2006, a number surpassed only by Harvard in 2002 and the United States Military Academy in 2006.

In all, Duke has sired 43 Rhodes Scholars, including 22 in the time between 1990 and 2011. 2010 data shows annual research investment exceeded $983 million

Related articles