North Carolina A&t

North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University or North Carolina A&T is a public research university in Greensboro, North Carolina.

It is a constituent institution of the University of North Carolina system. Established by the North Carolina General Assembly on March 9, 1891, as the Agricultural and Mechanical College for the Colored Race, it is the second college chartered under the Morrill Act of 1890, as well as the first for black people in the state of North Carolina.

North Carolina. Initially, the college offered education in agriculture, English, horticulture, and mathematics. In 1967, the college was designated a Regional University by the North Carolina General Assembly and renamed North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University.

The university's College of Engineering graduates more black engineers than any other campus in the United States; its College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences produces more African-American agricultural graduates than any other campus in the country.

The university is also a leading producer of African American undergraduate kinesiology students, landscape architects, nurses, teachers, and journalism graduates. The university offers 54 bachelor's, 29 master's, and nine doctoral programs through its eight colleges, one school, and one joint school; the university awards more than 2,600 graduate degrees annually and has an alumni base of approximately 65,000.

The university is classified as a highly active research university by the Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education. The university ranks third in sponsored funding among institutions in the University of North Carolina system.

As of 2021, the university conducts more than $78 million in academic and scientific research annually and operates 20 research centers and institutes on campus. The university's designation as a land-grant institution reflects its broad range of research with ongoing projects funded by agencies such as the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), the United States Department of Agriculture, the U.S.

Department of Defense United States, the National Institutes of Health and the National Science Foundation. The school's students, alumni, and sports teams are known as Aggies.