google newsGoogle News  

North Carolina State University

The North Carolina State University is a public US university located in Raleigh, North Carolina.

The university was founded on March 7, 1887 as the North Carolina College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts and later became the North Carolina State College of Agriculture and Engineering in 1918; it assumed its current name only in 1962.

NC State's Main Campus has three sub-campuses: North Campus, Central Campus, and South Campus. North Campus is the oldest part of NC State and is home to most academic departments and a few residence halls. In March 2008, NC State launched the University Sustainability Office in order to address environmental concerns on campus.

Considered a more selective university, NC State accepts about half of those who apply for undergraduate admission. For example, in 2019, 21,104 applied and 10,584, or 50%, were accepted, of whom 4,210 enrolled.

By number of students it is the largest university in the state and is one of the three universities that form the Research Triangle (the others are Duke and North Carolina in Chapel Hill). The NC State Wolfpack, which is part of NCAA Division I, is affiliated with the Atlantic Coast Conference.

Basketball, baseball, and American football are the major sports, home games being played at Carter-Finley Stadium and indoors at the PNC Arena.

Related articles